Developer in development

And so it begins. The developer is in development.

Six months ago I left my job as a corporate tax adviser to ‘travel the world‘. Already sounds horribly cliche, right? I travelled, I ate, I had a minor motorbike crash, and I asked myself some pretty serious life questions – including but not limited to the following:

  • do I really need this third smoothie?
  • can I remember the last time I wasn’t sweating?
  • do I feel happy, challenged and fulfilled in my current career?
  • do I smell?

Contemplating these four fundamental life questions, I realised I could only truthfully answer ‘yes’ to one of them: laundry services were disappointingly below par in Myanmar.

Slowly but surely, I was able to admit to myself that the career I was in was not my career for life. Heck it wasn’t even my career for ‘right now’ – and I desperately needed to make a change. Terrifying as it was, I decided to leave it all behind me and embark on something new and exciting:

BECOMING SHAKIRA

I knew it’d be tough, but it had always been a dream of mine to be a 5’2 Columbian woman with truth-telling hips. And my mum is forever telling me I can be anything I want when I grow up. So #dreambig, kids.

Now I don’t want you to think I didn’t make a good go of it because I did. But it turns out my hips are in fact terrible liars and the dream was sadly shattered. Picking myself up from that dark place, I set my sights on my second biggest dream, taking on a world equally new, exciting and only slightly less raunchy. The world of coding.

And that is where Makers Academy comes in – my portal into this strange world of hashes and gits. I applied to Makers Academy (a 12 week computer programming bootcamp based in London) whilst I was still travelling and ended up interviewing a couple of days after arriving back in the UK. A few weeks ago I found out I had a place on the August 2016 cohort and now here I am, just about to start the four-week pre-course!

‘the code bug’ is where I’ll be charting my Makers journey – celebrating the successes, thrashing out the frustrations and (hopefully) looking back to snigger at the coding noob I am now.

Let the coding commence.

Leave a Reply

